Monday, December 23, 2013

New Developments at

Hello All,

As you may have noticed, I’ve neglected posting here for some time. However, good news!

I and my lovely wife, have joined our blogs. We are posting together on our site or for the blog. Starting on January 1st, 2014, we’re going to go to a new blog format. We will post three times a week - Monday, Wednesday, & Friday.

Mondays will be devoted to articles, tutorials, thoughts on art and the industry, artist interviews, and reader questions & answers.

Wednesdays & Fridays will be the days we’ll share art - Wednesday will be Victoria and Friday will be me.

Each month will be centered around a core idea. (Ira Glass voice) 2014 will begin with the theme - Tabula Rasa or literally “blank slate.” We’ll explore this idea different ways each of the five weeks of January -

  • In the beginning - Our start as artists (interview/podcast)
  • 2013 in review & what lies ahead for 2014
  • Q&A - If you have a question(art, life, design, the industry) you’d like our input on, please visit and fill out the form to submit your questions. Questions will be reviewed & you will be contacted if your question is selected.
  • Fill the blank page - starting a new project(tutorial)
  • Don’t break the chain - Strategies for keeping your resolutions along with ours for the year

I invite you to join us on this grand adventure.


Saturday, July 6, 2013


Saturday, June 22, 2013

CDA Vis Dev Demo

Part of last weeek's Demo from our Vis Dev class at CDA

Saturday, June 15, 2013

Saturday, June 8, 2013


Friday, May 31, 2013

Zoo Sketch

We're going to be at an event at the Los Angeles Zoo this whole weekend. Here's a sketch I started and didnt have the time to finish.

If you're inclined to visit the zoo and see us, find more info here -

Saturday, May 25, 2013

Rough T Shirt design

We've been working on some shirt designs to debut at San Diego Comic Con. Here's one of my early sketches for a design.

Friday, May 17, 2013


It's been unseasonably warm in LA and I've had winter on my mind.

Saturday, May 11, 2013

Character Study for a comic

So I'm doing a comic(or at least I'm planning to try to tackle one). Here's a quick stab at a character design. Hope to have some more time to work on development work for it soon.

Friday, May 3, 2013

Weekly Sketch

Another Tree!

Friday, April 26, 2013

Quick Sketch

Saturday, April 20, 2013

Tree Sketch

Monday, April 8, 2013

CDA - WK 8 Demo

Last week's demo from our visual development class at CDA! I lighted/painted over a set design that Vicky did.

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Wall Street Journal Illustration

Hey all. Been super busy with my new job at Disney Animation!

Here's something I wrapped up just before I left Dreamworks. I was honored to be approached to do an illustration for the Wall Street Journal. SO without further ado, here it is.

Friday, March 29, 2013


Friday, March 22, 2013

Last day at Dreamworks!

 It's official. Today marks the end of my time at Dreamworks. It's been nearly 10 years since I started in the summer of 2003 and I'm thankful for my time being part of the creative community here. I've learned so much and forged great memories and was lucky enough to contribute to some terrific projects. On Monday new adventures await. Stay tuned.

Oh yes, here's a piece from the just released movie "the Croods." Go see it. Directed by Chris sanders & Kirk De Micco and staffed with an amazing art department.

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Tree Sketch

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Thursday, February 28, 2013

Original Art Giveway at ECCC

We're doing an art giveaway at ECCC! If you're going to be at the show, watch our facebook page or me(@michaelyamada) or Victoria(@victoriaying) on Twitter to get an announcement to come by the table. First one there gets to pick up a free original piece of art! Keep your eyes peeled in order to grab one of these little beauties!


Saturday, February 23, 2013

Emerald City Comic Con

Going to be in Sea-Town for Emerald city? We are! Come by, say hello and check out Curiosities! Also, we're going to have some cool give-aways during the show so keep watching here or on twitter - @michaelyamada


Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Tea Time

My piece for the upcoming "Animal kingdom" show at Gallery Nucleus -

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Demo from CDW workshop

Here's my demo from the last day of our workshop at CDW in Adelaide, Australia. We had a great time teaching at the school and meeting all the other instructors, teachers attendees, and especially school founder/teacher Simon Scale.

Thursday, January 31, 2013


It's been a while since I've gotten around to painting a car. Here's my first of hopefully many for 2013.

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Thursday, January 17, 2013

The Bravest warrior

Cover I painted along with my wife.

Friday, January 11, 2013

Unused How to Train your Dragon concept

An old unused concept for How to Train your Dragon. A training ground for dragons up on the tallest mountain on Berk.

Friday, January 4, 2013

Curio Jr!

Another excerpt from Curiosities Jr.

Plus some good news if you backed our Kickstarter - We started shipping orders! If you're in the group of people who pledged under $50($65 international) we have shipped your order! The rest of you will be receiving a copy of Curiosities Jr which should arrive on our doorstep shortly.